CJDaily's Blog

October 19, 2009

Two! Dos! Deux!

Filed under: Uncategorized — cjdaily @ 10:13 pm

I bet some of you are wondering how those sock-gloves worked out, and the question is they worked fine for my daughter as far as the scratching, but let me just mention one thing.  If you have taught your darling child to communicate with you through sign language, then putting socks over her hands may prove inconvenient for everyone in the middle of the night when Mommy is too exhausted to realise that the thing said child is doing?  The thing where she’s flapping her hand-socks at you frantically and making a sound like she’s mooing and all Mommy can do is stare at her and suggest what she might be trying to communicate?

“More?  More what?  Moo?  You want to rock?  You want Pooh-Bear?  Are you mooing?  Yes honey, cows say moo.  More?  More rocking?  You want a hug?  Moo?  Meow?”

And poor child is getting frantic and almost ten minutes of whimpering and flapping go by until she slumps against me in defeat, and I’m rocking her wondering what the heck that was all about and why she kept flapping her socks at me… like she was trying to sign something…

“MILK?  Holy cow, honey, do you want MILK?”

A sad, and pitiful, “Yes!”

Mommy slaps her forehead and apologizes profusely to poor toddler who picked a really bad time to try saying “milk” for the first time.  In my defense, it sounded a lot like “Mao.”  Which really could have been anything, right? 

This weekend was Belle’s 2nd birthday, and it’s crazy to see how much she’s grown.  I remember a year ago I was all thrilled that she was walking and blowing kisses and waving bye-bye, and now she’s saying new things every day and even stringing words together, and going everywhere at a flat-out run!  Last year I want to keep her frozen in time at one year old, and now I’d love for her to stay two forever.  I love hearing her talk to me, in half baby babble and half real words, and I love that she is becoming a little person with opinions and preferences of her own.  Like her mommy she loves chocolate, but she’s decided that Ariel is the coolest princess ever, despite me naming her for MY favorite princess.  She loves to be outside, she asks to go out even when it’s pouring down rain.  Sometimes she’ll fish the car keys out of my bag and run to the door yelling, “Bye-bye!  Outside!”, as if the keys are the magic connection to getting to leave the house.  She loves any kind of art–it’s a surefire way to get her to detach from my leg in the morning at preschool if they have paper and markers on the table. 

But the best, the very best thing is the way her face lights up when she sees me at the end of the day; the way she says, “Mommy!” and runs to me and hugs me and nestles her head in my shoulder, and pats my hair.  It makes me melt every single time.  As frustrating as motherhood can be, all the daily struggles, the whining, the food on the floor, the constant laundry and diapers, the runny nose, the cry at 2am that you’re dying to ignore but can’t, all of that dissolves in that one hug.  I always remember to take in that moment, to hold onto it in my heart the next time she’s trying to pull off the pants I’ve just put on her, or kicking off her shoes in anger because she’d rather be naked than subjected to something so bothersome as clothing. 

As a mom, you have to take those shining moments and cherish them, because there are so many other moments, the frustrating, the mundane, the thankless, that make you wonder why you try so hard.  But then your child looks at you with an entire universe of love in their eyes, and you remember why you try.  You remember why you can’t do anything other than your best, even if it burns you out and you snap at someone you meant to be nice to, and you’re too tired to eat, and too busy to sleep.  You remember that you do your best because you hold an entire lifetime of potential in your hand.  You do your best because when you’re in love like that, that’s the only way you know how to do it. 

Happy Birthday Annablue, Belly Button, Little Miss, Precious Girl.  I love you.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

