CJDaily's Blog

October 6, 2009

Thrilled doesn’t quite describe it…

Filed under: Uncategorized — cjdaily @ 11:08 pm

WE GOT THE HOUSE!  Yes, it still has to pass inspection, but it’s ours for the taking when it does!  Jesse and I are over the moon about this house, it’s pretty much everything we wanted.  Ok, well… there is only one bathroom.  And you know what?  I DON’T CARE!  Do you know why?  Because there is… drumroll please… let me try not to faint with joy as I type this… A LIBRARY. 

That’s right.  A LIBRARY.  A room with built-in bookshelves just for all the BOOKS I own!  You know the movie Beauty and the Beast?  My all time favorite movie?  Yes, well my all time favorite part of this all time favorite movie is when the Beast gives Belle a library.  I mean, is that not the most romantic thing you’ve ever heard of?  True love meets nerdiness?  I swoon every time I think about it.  A LIBRARY. 

When I first saw this house, I turned to Jesse and said, “I hate you for showing me this house.  I hate you because it’s so wonderful, and I am going to be crushed when we don’t get it.”  And up until a few hours ago it looked like we wouldn’t get it.  First there was a threat of someone else offering for it.  Then the realtor was jerking us around by not putting our paperwork through, probably hoping someone else would offer more.  But Jesse texted me just as I was walking into church tonight that the house was his, and I was pretty much sitting on air the whole rest of the night.

The main part of the house is a 1900’s stone farmhouse that has been built onto since then.  It’s on 2 acres, complete with mature fruit trees, apple and pear.  It has a 3 bedrooms, one full bathroom, a living room, a kitchen, a dining room, a LIBRARY, and a “summer kitchen.”  No idea what we’ll do with that little extra room called a summer kitchen, but something in me is suggesting playroom?  The floors are almost all hardwood, and the front porch is big and deep.  There’s nothing across the street from the house except for land and forest.  The neighbors to the left own a little cow farm, the neighbors to the right own a little horse farm.  Neither of them is within 300 feet of our house. 

And despite the rural setting of this little abode, it’s only ten minutes from Bethlehem, meaning we only have the illusion of being in the middle of nowhere!  And it’s in the Saucon school district, the best one around!  Of course, we have school district taxes, but I’ll gladly pay them for what we are getting.  Settlement, provided all goes well, is on the 21st of November, and once that’s done, Jesse can move in. 

I want to thank everyone who was praying for us.  I was all set to accept defeat, and yet I didn’t quite give up hope that this house just might be the one.  Please continue to keep us in your prayers, as we still have to have it inspected.  I’ll post pics to Facebook as soon as Jesse sends me some from his phone.

2 Comments »

  1. Oh Ceej! that is so exciting!!!! does this mean that there is more news on the horizon? (wink wink)

    sorry, i’m sick of hearing that myself, so i thought i’d shove it off on someone else!!!!

    Comment by Stefani — October 6, 2009 @ 11:56 pm | Reply

    • Haha, I mean, I hope so, but I have no idea, really. Don’t u just love that question? It’s like, sure hold on, let me check that crystal ball of mine…

      Comment by cjdaily — October 7, 2009 @ 7:12 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

