CJDaily's Blog

September 30, 2009

Click your heels 3 times, and repeat after me…

Filed under: Uncategorized — cjdaily @ 9:12 pm

I haven’t written anything in a while and I apologise, but things have been a little crazy around here.  Jesse and I are on the verge of offering for a house–not the 155 year old farmhouse I mentioned a few weeks ago, but another house, about which I will say nothing, because getting my hopes up sucks.  We’ve already not gotten 2 houses we had our hearts set on, and because I love this new house even more than the others before it, I am telling myself it will not happen.  If I aim low, I can’t be disappointed, right? 

We rejected the brick farmhouse after weeks of agonizing over whether or not to offer for it, and ultimately deciding it was too risky a purchase.  Old houses are unpredictable, and when dealing with a Civil War era domicile there was a good chance it would have bankrupted us in the long run with repairs and such.  Also, not quite as important, it was a little farther away than we wanted to be.  We were willing to deal with it in return for the gorgeous area and charm of the house, but still, it would have been a small issue, particularly when dealing with traffic when trying to go anywhere. 

But this new house, (also a farmhouse, only stone, not brick) is closer, exactly where we’d like to be.  Not in a suburb but minutes from the city.  It’s on 2 acres, it’s half old and half new, it’s beautiful, and it’s just in our price range.  And that’s all I’m saying.  Jeez, for a house I’m trying not to set my heart on, I’m doing a lot of gushing.  I’ll control myself now.  If I start talking about the hardwood floors or the crown molding then you might know how much I want it and how crushed I’m going to be when someone else buys it first!  Zipping the lips now.  Not mentioning the gazebo.  Gah!

I guess we’ll know more by this weekend.  I’ll keep you all posted.  Please pray for us.  I’d really, really love for us to get this house.  I don’t see how much more perfect it could get, but I’ve often seen how getting what you want isn’t always the best thing in the long run, so I’m just going to shut my mouth on the subject and pray that everything turns out the way it’s supposed to.  And SOON, before I lose my freakin’ mind!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

