CJDaily's Blog

July 17, 2009

Silence is not golden.

Filed under: Uncategorized — cjdaily @ 12:21 am

Today I wandered into the kitchen to get a glass of water and wound up involved in a phone conversation with my mom that caused me to linger there for a few minutes, probably because I can’t walk around and carry on a conversation at the same time.

“Where’s the baby?” my mom asked.

“Oh, we’re playing in the living room,” I smiled.  I could hear her happy babble just around the corner as I stood there by the sink.  After 30 seconds more conversation, I hung up and realised I no longer heard Belle talking. 

ALL WAS SILENCE.

I raced around the corner to find her seated in an armchair that had been stripped of its cushion, holding my Kindle with both hands and grinning like a maniac. 

“Ess MOMMY’S!” she gleefully pronounced, waving the Kindle at me like a punch-drunk matador. 

“Too right it is, you little stinker!” I told her, relieving her of my precious possession.  She KNOWS she’s not allowed to touch the Kindle–the ONE THING in the whole house I’ve never wavered in letting her play with. 

Lesson learned = When child is being quiet she is trying to parachute out the open window with sheets tied around her wrists, or is about to introduce your Kindle to her sippy cup.

SILENCE IS NOT GOLDEN!  It’s a big foghorn alerting you to potential disaster!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

