CJDaily's Blog

July 9, 2009

My preoccupation with occupation…

Filed under: Uncategorized — cjdaily @ 3:46 pm

Ok, I apologize to the people who’ve been checking this thing for the past week or so.  I’ve been a little busy trying to A. find a new job, and B. maintain my sanity.  Neither is as easy as it sounds. 

I might be a moron for turning down a job in this present economy, but that’s just what I did yesterday.  I’d been interviewing at this marketing company since before the 4th of July, and as I got to see what it was all about, it was clear to me that it was not my thing.  Could I have done it, and maybe even been successful at it?  Sure.  But the three main factors of the job all turned me off: daily travel (for which only half of my gas and none of my car maintenance would be compensated); visiting companies in the middle of the day and bothering people who may or may not want my services; and the fact that the entire first year I’d be making only what money I earned in commission. 

The numbers they showed me were impressive–if everything went according to their little chart, I could be making close to $90 thousand in two years.  But you know what they say about things that look too good to be true.  And call me crazy, but if I’m going to keep my daughter in weekly daycare (which adds up to about $1000 a month) I need to have a paycheck I can depend on.  If I wanted to work my butt off every day and not be sure how much I’d be making every week, I’d be a stripper! 

So thanks to everyone who gave me advice while I was hyperventilating over my options.  I woke up at 6am the morning of the decision and waffled back and forth for hours before finally deciding not to go for it.  There has to be something out there for me.  Jesse asked me what I actually wanted to be when I grow up (ha ha, honey) and my answer was, “Nothing that’s easy to get a job in.”  Which is so true.  If I could work as anything I wanted, here’s some of my top choices:

Telepath, preferably working for the CIA, reading criminals minds and bringing down the badguys.

Writing a wildly popular fiction series while living in my castle in Scotland.  (That’s right J. K. Rowling, I’ve got my eye on YOU!)

Having my own television show in which I am immaculately coiffed and dressed, where people ask my advice about their lives and problems and I tell them why they are idiots while displaying my rapier wit and impeccable fashion sense. 

I mean, none of those things are posted on CareerBuilder.  Everything that says “entry-level” means you’ll be hawking knives door-to-door or telemarketing.  Everything else requires a degree in astrophysics or biochemistry.  Almost all the Fortune 500 companies (the ones with the best guaranteed benefits) involve banking or medicine.  Nobody is sitting around saying, “Gee, you know what we need?  A theatre major with an above average vocabulary and an anal obsession with spellchecking!  Go find me one!” 

Nobody is going to pay me to sit around and speed-read, which is a darn shame because would I be raking in the dough or what!?  And last I checked, stay-at-home-mom isn’t a government subsidised occupation.  (And it should be!)  And there are no superhero training schools around here, that I know of.  If there were, I’d be investing in some red spandex and it would be WordGirl to the rescue!  Ok, maybe not spandex.  Maybe like a white button-up and pencil skirt, kind of a superhero/librarian look.    With a special belt to hold my thesarus. 

See?  Nobody’s hiring WordGirl.  The world is happy with its literary mediocrity.  Deep down I knew I could never take the job at the marketing company.  I found 4 grammatical/punctuation errors on their website.

1 Comment »

  1. The answer may be in the question. Ever try editing? It’s lucrative, work-at-home, and you’d be damn good at it. If that doesn’t work out, you can complain about it wittily on your blog, work up a fan base, and then release your first novel to guaranteed high sales. It’s win-win. 😉

    Comment by John — July 10, 2009 @ 7:37 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

