CJDaily's Blog

June 24, 2009

I’m never wasting money on the zoo again…

Filed under: Uncategorized — cjdaily @ 8:38 pm

Ok, day 3 of being a stay at home mom and I am going a little batty.  Not that I don’t love my daughter but we just don’t see eye to eye on what makes a fun day.  She would love to either watch The Wiggles/Tinkerbell until the cows come home OR go outside for hours on end and achieve world domination, starting with the neighborhood.  She plows through flower beds, takes toys from neighborhood children, and chases cats and squirrels like she is a hunter and they are tonight’s dinner.  I do not like going outside because I feel vaguely guiltyand a little ridiculous trying to maintain my tiny dictators behavior.  I mean, nobody else’s kid thinks they own everything their eye falls upon.  My kid has raging only-child-syndrome and I am not brave or crazy enough to try and remedy that. 

So, today I decided we would go to Barnes and Noble after her nap.  I like it there, it’s full of books, and she likes it there as long as she is not confined to a stroller, but free to run around and proclaim her independance.  I picked up a copy of The Very Hungry Caterpillar and Tales of Beetle the Bard while she roamed the childrens section, and then let her have free reign of the store for another 20 minutes.  We happily wandered, looking at magazines, cd’s, and mysteriously, a sandpail for sale, complete with shovel and rake.  (?)  But the store got boring after our fifteenth circle of it, and I relectantly paid for my books and left with her, wondering what we would do for the next hour before dinner. 

I didn’t want to go home, having spent the majority of the past 3 days there, but it was too muggy and overcast to risk the park.  I strapped her into her car seat and stood up, and my eyes fell on the perfect solution.  There in front of me, gleaming like a holy solution sent by the gods, was PetSmart!  I cackled wildly at my own genius and we set out through the welcoming sliding doors of PetSmart, perfect alternative to the zoo.

We spent over 40 minutes there, looking at all the cats, birds, ferrets, chinchillas, and fish we could feast our eyes on.  They even had tiny crabs, and brightly colored little toads.  Belle was in heaven, running from one case to another, pointing wide-eyed at the animals inside.  When a lady walked by with her adorable golden retriever she had brought in for grooming and let Annabelle pat the dog, who in turn gave her lots of snuffly kisses, I thought she’d die and go to heaven right then and there.  I felt almost guilty that she was having so much fun in a store where we weren’t buying anything.  Of course, I did pay in psychic pain when I had to pick her up and bodily haul her out the front doors, as she screamed in protest and reached out helplessly to any stranger who would come save her from this evil woman who was obviously abducting her.  I was half-certain they were going to call a Code Adam on me right then and there.  Lucky she looks just like me. 

It seems we will have to find something new and fun to do every day, as staying in the house starts to feel like a prison sentence, even though I love my house.  The sooner I find a job, of course, the sooner I will be out on a regular basis, but until then I will need to find new and exciting places to go so I don’t feel like I’m on house arrest with a very small and bossy warden.  I can only imagine the wonders and fun if we went to the mall…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

