CJDaily's Blog

June 8, 2009

To have and to hold…

Filed under: Uncategorized — cjdaily @ 8:12 am

First of all, I would just like to give a big shout-out to my best friend Katelyn (formerly Finnegan) Piotrowicz for being the hottest bride I’ve ever seen and for THROWING ME THE BOUQUET!  That sucker sailed high in the air and landed straight in my upstretched hands, like the wedding fairies had declared it should be so.  I didn’t even have to lunge.  Now, the night before (when we had our bride and maids sleepover) I may have laughingly made one or two veiled comments about stabbing anyone who tried to catch it, but I didn’t actually think it would gently land in my palms like a little gift from heaven.  I didn’t even have to wield any cutlery! 

All in all it was a wonderful weekend, despite the fact that I was awake for 23 hours the day of the wedding.  Yes, I woke up at 5:30am after dreaming about the wedding all night, and was too excited to go back to sleep, so I had some coffee with the equally amped up mother-of-the-bride while we waited for everyone else to awaken.  Fast forward to 4:30am and I finally passed out at the hotel.  I’m not sure if all the alcohol consumed helped or hindered my condition that day, but we bridesmaids started indulging in mimosas at 8:30 am whilst at the hair salon and didn’t really stop until, well, much later that night.  Sheer excitement and adrenaline kept me clear-headed. 

Being a part of a bridal party for the first time was truly exciting for me.  There’s nothing like being able to see all the background things going on beforehand, and being able to lend support to the bride that makes it an experience like none other.  Watching Kate in her gown and veils reading a letter from Mark that he’d specially written for her to have that morning brought tears to my eyes.  Being a witness to love like that is so heartwarming, so special.  I was truly moved the whole day.  Seeing Mark’s smile as she walked down the aisle; seeing her parents tears of happiness; watching Kate and Mark have their first dance… it was all amazing.

Oh yes, by the way, I did say VEILS.  Not veil.  Not our girl.  Kate insisted on having the cathedral length veil trailing behing her as well as using a fingertip length veil for the blusher.  Every memory I have of that day is swathed in yards of tulle.  Every time she tried to leave a room someone would scream “STOP!” and run to unravel her veil from whatever it was trying to wrap itself around.  We kept waiting for it to grab onto someone and not let go, anaconda-style, and for Kate’s head to susequently snap back as she was laid out on the floor by her TEN-FOOT VEIL.  Fortunately this never happened, and somehow nobody was hurt or maimed in the wearing of this veil.  I thought she was crazy for choosing this miles-long accessory, but after seeing some of the photos of it trailing behind her, fairy tale style, I’m starting to think she knew what she was doing.  Do I see a “something borrowed” in my future? 

Hah!  The instant I start getting ahead of myself like that, Jesse will run off with some blond surfer-girl with no stretch marks, who has never taken off her bra at night to find cheerios mysteriously hidden inside.  But I did wave the bouquet in his face at the reception and he didn’t pass out, or scream, or run off with our dear friend William Michael Peters, with whom he WAS dancing rather enthusiastically that night.  So I will just save those little yellow roses and consider them my good luck charm… because if I find myself as lucky as Kate and Mark, pledging their love forever in front of all their friends and family, I will consider myself fortunate indeed.

1 Comment »

  1. Hi I think this is a fantastic blog, keep up the good work…

    Comment by Sarah — June 13, 2009 @ 5:36 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

