CJDaily's Blog

May 26, 2009

Birthdays, Bridesmaids, and Burns.

Filed under: Uncategorized — cjdaily @ 11:11 am

So let’s just say that Jesse is the best guy ever, and I love him tons.  TONS.  Ew.  I gross even myself out sometimes by just how mushy I could get over him if I let myself.  It’s a brand new level of mush not known to man, as I think I have invented it myself.  He makes me MUSH.  I LUUUUUUURVE him. 

There.  That’s done.

My birthday festivities included the most eating and drinking of delectable things I have ever done in my life.  We went to Philly, and spent Thursday and Friday consuming every bottle of champagne we could find, as well as large amounts of cheese (at Tria); sushi (Morimoto); chocolate decadence (Le Bec Fin); more cheese, (back at Tria, where I may or may not be allowed to go again); and my very favorite brunch food ever, croque madames, (Parc.)  Oh, and more cheese, as well as various fruits (Rouge).   I expected to either turn into a mouse, or a large cheese log, but instead I just looked like I had eaten a large cheese log instead.  Thank God my bathing suit is a very flattering one-piece, as I may never show my stomach again. 

We spent the rest of our time monopolizing a cozy bench in Rittenhouse Park, people-watching and soaking in the glorious weather.  And when I say glorious, I really do mean it was the most perfect freaking day ever.  Bright sunshine, cool shade, a glorious breeze… Jesse said he paid extra for the weather.  He’s adorable.  (MUSH!)

And as we were soaking up the weather and watching all the people with their babies, and their dogs and their pregnant bellies walk by (is EVERYONE pregnant right now?), he pulls out a little blue box (oh yes, that very SPECIAL BLUE) and gives me the most gorgeous necklace, with two little “x”‘s and a diamond “o” in the middle, because “that’s how you sign all your letters and it made me think of you.”   (MUSH!  MUSH MUSHY MUSH MUSH!) 

Then we spent the rest of the day being blissful and shopping and eating more cheese.  I must say right now that any man who does not try to decaptitate himself with a hanger while shopping is worthy of a large medal, or perhaps a large cheese log.  Jesse is that guy who will not only give me an honest opinion of an outfit, but will go find me another size when I (tearfully) tell him the 4 does not fit and could he please stop feeding me cheese? 

All in all, I have never had more fun on a birthday, despite the fact that Thursday night I was having such a love affair with the champagne that I started singing in faux French, and accidentally dumped a basket of baguettes out an open window and onto someone’s head.  Jesse swore he still loved me after that, so it was all good.  Turning 27 hardly hurt at all.

Saturday morning I went off to Wildwood for my best friend Kate’s bachelorette party.  She’d requested a relaxing, bridesmaids-only weekend down the shore, and we bridesmaids were happy to oblige.  It was another glorious day, and upon arrival I joined them all on the beach, (yes, in my one piece), to sit and chat and drink and eat chips and be content.  There was a brisk breeze blowing off the ocean that kept us all cool–and oblivious to the state of our skin, which was slowly roasting like a chicken on a spit.  By the time we all went back to the shorehouse for showers, we looked like salamanders.  It was, in hindsight, not the best idea to make use of the “dark tanning oil” with not a shred of SPF in it.  Today is the first day since Saturday i’ve been able to wear a bra!

But it was all lovely, and I think Kate was pleased.  We had a nice split of grown-up cocktails and a dressy dinner out, mixed with sparkly tank-tops and beer at the bar afterwards.  This is my first time being a bridesmaid, and I’m starting to get really excited about being part of Kate and Mark’s big day.  I mean, I was honored to be asked to be part of something so special in the first place, but I am just now realizing how incredible it’s going to be to stand next to my friend as she pledges her love to the amazing man she has found.  Lord, I get teary just thinking about it. 

Anyway, after this weekend I am tanner, fatter, and happier than I have been in a long time.  This whole weekend was full of love, not to make you gag or anything.  But there was love with me and Jesse, love with me and Kate, and the other awesome women who love her, and love with me and Belle when I finally got to squeeze her again after being away from her for 3 days.  It’s really too long to not kiss her smooth little cheeks and snuffle in the smell of her hair.  

I love my daughter.  I love my friends.  And I really love Jesse.  (MUSH!!!)

1 Comment »

  1. Ceej, if you want some good sushi and don’t mind traipsing down to Delaware, you should check out Mikimotos. Their food is excellent. I’m not a sushi fan, but my sushi fan friends drool over it.

    Comment by RecoveringActor — May 27, 2009 @ 3:06 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

